

## I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 37

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio

A. R. Unpingco

Edward J.B. Calvo

Relative to recognizing *Gef Pa'go* Chamorro Cultural Village for its Fifteenth (15<sup>th</sup>) Anniversary celebration and celebrating Fourteen (14) years of hosting the *Fiestan Dinana' Minagof* Chamorro Dance Festival and commending the *Gef Pa'go* Board of Directors and staff for their hard work and contributions.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, *Gef Pa'go* Chamorro Cultural Village was established in the Municipality of *Inarajan* in 1992, dedicated to the preservation of the Chamorro culture; and

WHEREAS, Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village gives its visitors a taste of life on Guam before the adoption of western civilization through an assortment of traditional activities such as: cooking, weaving, dancing, and dialect; and

WHEREAS, *Gef Pa'go* in conjunction with *Pa'a Taotao Tano,'* have worked closely throughout the years in promoting local customs and performances that depict the Chamorro culture; and

WHEREAS, *Gef Pa'go* will be celebrating fourteen (14) years of hosting the *Fiestan Dinana' Minagof* Chamorro Dance Festival which means 'Happy Gathering' in the Chamorro language; and

WHEREAS, Fiestan Dinana' Minagof Chamorro Dance Festival is a friendly competition where participants can demonstrate their dance skills, cultural knowledge, and language practices through dance movements, costumes, and ornaments to signify aspects of their heritage; and

WHEREAS, the *Inarajan* Municipal Planning Council and the Honorable Franklin M. Taitague, Mayor of *Inarajan* work enthusiastically with *Gef Pa'go* to organize traditional games such as fishnet throwing, coconut husking and grating, and *tuba* drinking providing fun for everyone to enjoy; and

WHEREAS, Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village has built a foundation to showcase, teach, and preserve the Chamorro culture for many years to come; and

WHEREAS, Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village, Pa'a Taotao Tano,' the Inarajan Municipal Planning Council, and the Honorable Franklin M. Taitague, Mayor of Inarajan advocate for island residents

to join in the festivities scheduled for February 10<sup>th</sup> and 11<sup>th</sup>, 2007 at the *Gef Pa'go* Chamorro Cultural Village, *Inarajan*; and

WHEREAS, the month of February will mark the Fifteenth (15<sup>th</sup>) Anniversary celebration of the *Gef Pa'go* Chamorro Cultural Village and the Fourteenth (14<sup>th</sup>) celebration of hosting the *Fiestan Dinana' Minagof* Chamorro Dance Festival; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente* Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan* Guåhan and the people of Guam recognize Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village on its Fifteenth (15th) Anniversary celebration; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, commend *Gef Pa'go* Chamorro Cultural Village on its Fourteenth (14th) celebration of hosting the *Fiestan Dinana' Minagof* Chamorro Dance Festival; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, further commend Pa'a Taotao Tano', the Inarajan Municipal Planning Council, the Honorable Franklin M. Taitague, Mayor of Inarajan, Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village Board of Directors and staff for their hard work and contributions; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Ms. Cathy S.N. Flores, Chairwoman of *Gef Pa'go* Chamorro Cultural Village; Mr. Francisco Rabon, Creative Director of *Pa'a Taotao Tano'*; Mr. Joshua Tenorio, Chairman of *Pa'a Taotao Tano'*; the Honorable Franklin M. Taitague, Mayor of *Inarajan*; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE \_\_\_\_\_\_ DAY OF FEBRUARY 2007.

MARK FORBES
Speaker and
Executive Committee Chairman

RAY TENORIO
Senator and
Secretary of the Legislature